NASA's James Webb Space Telescope

Global Partners

Map of global partners on the JWST project.
Worldwide Involvement:
Dozens of contractors and subcontractors throughout the U.S. and around
the world are contributing to the James Webb Space Telescope.

JWST is an international collaboration. NASA is the lead partner, with contributions from the European Space Agency (ESA) and the Canadian Space Agency (CSA). NASA has overall responsibility for the JWST mission. ESA’s contributions include the Near-Infrared Spectrograph, the Mid-Infrared Instrument (MIRI) optics assembly and the Ariane 5 launch vehicle. CSA’s contributions to JWST include the Fine Guidance Sensor (FGS) and the Near-Infrared Imager and Slitless Spectrograph (NIRISS). 

The following 14 countries  have been involved in building the observatory: Austria, Belgium, Canada, Denmark, France, Germany, Ireland, Italy, the Netherlands, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, the United Kingdom, and the United States. Additional ESA member states in Europe also contribute to ESA .