NASA's James Webb Space Telescope

Add to Calendar:

"Early Science with JWST" at EWASS 2018

Science Meeting
April 3 - 4, 2018
Liverpool, United Kingdom

The "Early Science with JWST" symposium will be held on 3-4 April 2018 during the EWASS 2018 meeting (3-6 April 2018) in Liverpool, United Kingdom.  The abstract submission deadline is 27 November 2017. Contributions related to JWST's science, with an emphasis on science that will or could be conducted during its first years of scientific operation, are welcome. Abstracts can be submitted on the EWASS 2018 website.

EWASS 2018 offers a perfect opportunity to inform the European community of the status of the mission, and discuss the scientific program that will define the first months of operations, including the Guaranteed Time Observations (GTO)  and the Early Release Science (ERS) programs. The selected ERS programs cover a broad range of science and operating modes of the instruments and will provide immediate open access to the data and high level products and tools, intended to stimulate future JWST science. The ERS programs have been selected and EWASS 2018 will offer a timely forum to engage with the ERS teams, as well as encourage scientific discussion of future JWST plans. 

The symposium will:

  1. Update the community on the status of the mission. This will come at a time when JWST is going through some of the last phases of its integration and testing and when the commissioning plans will be in an advanced state.
  2. Provide an opportunity for participants of successful ERS proposals to advertise their programs not only from the scientific point of view, but also with respect to what they have committed to make available to the community in addition to the raw data (data products, tools).
  3. Provide an opportunity for Guaranteed Time Observers (GTOs) to advertise their scientific programs.
  4. Provide an opportunity for community members to present and discuss potential science with JWST.
  5. Highlight community  outreach and public educational opportunities from launch and early JWST science.

Detailed information about the symposium can be found on the symposium page of the EWASS 2018 website .

Science Organizing Committee

Catherine Cesarsky (CEA Saclay)
Michele Cirasuolo (ESO)
Roger Davies (University of Oxford)
David Ehrenreich (University of Geneva)
Anne Marie Lagrange (IPAG)
Laura Pentericci (INAF)
Eline Tolstoi (University of Groningen)
Monica Tosi (INAF)

The James Webb Space Telescope Users Committee Townhall

Date: April 4, 2018
Time: 13:00-14:30
Session: LS9

With an aperture of 6.5 m, and a powerful combination of astronomical instruments, the James Webb Space Telescope (Webb) will be the premier observatory of the next decade, serving thousands of astronomers worldwide. Webb will study every phase in the history of our Universe, ranging from the first luminous glows after the Big Bang, to the formation of solar systems capable of supporting life on planets like Earth, to the evolution of our own Solar System.

Webb is an international collaboration between NASA, the European Space Agency (ESA), and the Canadian Space Agency (CSA).

The James Webb Space Telescope Users Committee (JSTUC) has been created to provide user advice to the STScI Director and the JWST Senior Project Scientist, with the goal to maximize the observatory’s scientific performance. The JSTUC includes approximately fifteen astronomers from the US, Europe, and Canada and currently has representation both from the General Observer (GO) community and the Webb Instrument Definition Teams (GTOs).

This townhall will give a first opportunity to the astronomical community to meet and interact with the European representatives on the JSTUC. Brief presentations will be given on the status of the mission, timeline of events of interest to the community, and the JSTUC charter and membership.

They will be followed by a moderated Q/A session, where attendees will have the opportunity to gain insight on Webb scientific operations as well as provide feedback and suggestions to the JSTUC representatives present at the meeting.


Topic Presenter
Welcome & Introduction Antonella Nota (ESA)
Status of the James Webb Space Telescope Mission Pierre Ferruit (ESA)
Scientific Observations Timeline Neill Reid (STScI)
What is the JSTUC Stephane Charlot (IaP)
Panel: What can the JSTUC do for you?
Panelists:  Stephane Charlot (IaP), Pierre Ferruit (ESA), Johan Richard (Obs. Lyon), I.N. Reid (STScI), G. Wright   (UKATC)
moderated by Bonnie Meinke (STScI)

Science Organizing Committee

Antonella Nota (ESA/STScI)
Pierre Ferruit (ESA)
Bonnie Meinke (STScI)
I. Neill Reid (STScI)
Gillian Wright (UKATC)

For additional information about the townhall, please contact Antonella Nota.