NASA's James Webb Space Telescope

Event Assets

Add to Calendar:

The 1st Meeting of the JWST Users Committee (JSTUC)

Committee Meeting
September 14 - 15, 2017
STScI Baltimore, MD

The 1st meeting of the JSTUC was held at STSCI on September 14-15, 2017. The committee was welcomed by the STScI Director, the JWST Senior Project Scientist, and representatives of the three space agencies. The committee received briefings on all aspects of the JWST program, including progress on the testing being completed at Johnson Space Center and the ongoing preparations at STScI and GSFC to support community science. The JSTUC will meet semi-annually to provide user advice to the observatory. More information is available on the JSTUC page.

Meeting Agenda

The JSTUC members met on Wednesday evening for a reception and tour of the JWST Mission Operations Center.

Thursday, September 14, 2017

Time Topic Presenter
8:15-8:30 Breakfast @ Rotunda
8:30-9:00 Welcome & STScI Status K. Sembach
9:00-9:30 Welcome & GSFC Status
   -  SWG update
J. Mather
9:30-10:15 JWST Project Report
   -  JWST test updates
W. Ochs
10:15-11:00 JWST Mission Office Report
   -  SOC status
M. Stiavelli/N. Lewis
11:00-11:15 Break
11:15-11:25 NASA HQ P. Hertz
11:25-11:40 NASA HQ JWST Project Perspective E. Smith
11:40-12:05 ESA Perspective A. Nota/P. Ferruit
12:05-12:30 CSA Perspective J. Dupuis
12:30-12:45 Executive Session
12:45-13:30 Lunch @ Rotunda
13:30-14:15 JSTAC Report
   -  Advice to the JSTUC
G. Illingworth
14:15-15:00 Science Policies & Science Timeline
   -  ERS status
   -  Cycle 1 GO Call preparations
A. Moro-Martin
15:00-15:15 Break
15:15-16:00 JWST Commissioning Plan
   -  What happens when
S. Friedman
16:00-16:40 Cycle 1 Capabilities
   -  Instrument modes
   -  Overheads and efficiencies
J. Valenti
16:40-17:15 Pipeline Processing & Products
   -  Status report
H. Bushouse
17:15-17:30 Discussion
17:30-18:00 Executive Session
18:00 Adjourn
18:15 Dinner @ Azafran

Friday, September 15, 2017

Time Topic Presenter
8:30-8:45 Breakfast @ Rotunda
8:45-9:00 Executive Session J. Bullock
9:00-9:45 Proposal Preparation Tools
   -  ETC, APT
K. Pontoppidan
9:45-10:30 JWST Documentation
   -  Status report
O. Fox/S. La Massa
10:30-10:45 Break
10:45-11:30 Cycle 1 Calibration Plan
   -  Summary
J. Muzerolle
11:30-12:15 Data Analysis Tools
   -  Status and plans
S. Kassin/E. Tollerud
12:15-12:30 Executive Session
12:30-13:30 Lunch @ Rotunda
13:30-14:00 Workshops, Training & Astronomer Outreach
   -  Status & upcoming events
N. Lewis
14:00-14:30 Public Outreach B. Meinke
14:30-15:00 Drafting of Report
15:00-16:00 Feedback to the Director/JWST Project Scientist
16:00 Adjourn


Ken Sembach:  STScI Director
Nancy Levenson:  STScI Deputy Director
Antonella Nota:  Associate Director for ESA, ESA Project Scientist for Guest Observers
Massimo Stiavelli:  JWST Mission Office Head
Nikole Lewis:  JWSTMO Project Scientist
Scott Friedman:  JWSTMO Commissioning Lead
Bonnie Meinke:  JWSTMO Deputy Project Scientist
Klaus Pontoppidan:  JWSTMO Deputy Project Scientist
Jeff Valenti:  JWSTMO Mission Scientist
Alessandra Aloisi:  Deputy Head, Science Mission Office
Amaya Moro-Martín:  Science Mission Office
Louis Strolger: Science Mission Office
Brian Williams:  Science Mission Office
Neill Reid:  Associate Director for Science, SMO
Bill Blair:  JWST Project Scientist for User Support
Ori Fox:  JWST Documentation Lead
Stephanie LaMassa:  JWST Documentation Deputy
Karl Gordon:  Pipeline Lead
Howard Bushouse:  Pipeline Deputy
Susan Kassin:  Data Analysis Tools Deputy
Erik Tollerud:  Data Analysis Tools Team

Bill Ochs:  Associate Director, JWST Project, Astrophysics Projects Division, GSFC
John Mather:  JWST Senior Project Scientist, GSFC
Jonathan Gardner:  JWST Deputy Senior Project Scientist, GSFC
George Sonneborn: JWST Operations Project Scientist, GSFC
Jane Rigby: JWST Deputy Project Scientist for Operations, GSFC

Paul Hertz:  Director of the Astrophysics Division, Science Mission Directorate, NASA
Eric Smith:  JWST Program Director/Program Scientist, NASA
Hashima Hasan:  JWST Deputy Program Scientist, NASA
Kartik Sheth:  JWST Deputy Program Scientist for Science Operations, NASA

Pierre Ferruit: ESA Project Scientist, ESTEC

Jean Dupuis: Senior Mission Scientist, CSA